Bad News: Bad News For This District

Bad News are a spoof rock band, created for the Channel 4 television series The Comic Strip Presents.... Its members are Vim Fuego (aka Alan Metcalfe), vocals and lead guitar (played by Adrian Edmondson); Den Dennis, rhythm guitar (Nigel Planer); Colin Grigson, bass (Rik Mayall); and Spider Webb, drums (Peter Richardson). Bad News made their television debut during 1982, in the first series of The Comic Strip Presents... (written by Edmondson, and produced by Michael White/Comic Strip Productions). The episode, Bad News Tour, took the form of a fly-on-the-wall rockumentary, in which the incompetent band is followed travelling to a gig in Grantham by an almost equally inept documentary crew. Coincidentally, it was in production at the same time as the similar film This Is Spinal Tap, which was released the following year to much greater acclaim. The band also guested on some TV music shows and released a self-titled album, consisting of thrashy rock songs interspersed with arguments...

More about Bad News


What do you think about this album?